Some Thoughts on Miami Art Fairs

I have been showing and visiting Miami’s art fairs for several years. This year, I had works in both Pulse with Rena Bransten (left image) and Scope/Art Asia with Grotto Fine Art (right image).

Every year, I find myself asking the same question – is the art better in some art fairs than the others? Or is it just better press, lighting, location, and presentation? The other revelation is that the art world is incredibly competitive. I knew that long ago and it has always been that way, but being confronted by it is different. There’s so much art out there.

Sometimes seeing too much is like seeing nothing at all.

Everyone was at Art Basel. In a sea of art, a few managed to catch my attention. One is Do-Ho Suh’s “Home Within Home” series. I have been head over heels in love with his works forever. In this series, the soft, baby blue mesh fabric was sewn into light switches, faucets, toilet seat, shower head, sink, and other home items. I just love, love, love the simplicity, contrast, and intimacy his works evoke. They are not loud, brightly colored, shocking, or oversized. They are refreshingly the opposite.

When my feet got really tired, I rested in those little wooden pods Art Basel built that also showed videos. Good idea. The one I was watching and liked is “Casting Jesus” by Christian Janowski.

And of course, Takashi Murakami’s gigantic plush doll. I am a fan of his work and mostly how he builds his career.

It was quite moving to see old masters like Picasso, Chagall, and my favorite De Chirico at a few of the booths. Their works offered a sense of safety. There seems to be a bit more classical (bankable) masters at the fair this year.

That’s it.

I am still dizzy but happy.

Click to see larger images:

Leave a Reply

