Paper Surgery

Besides the good old hobby knife, there are cut paper artists using scalpel. I had not cut with scalpel before but am cutting a new piece with it now. Someone sent me the surgical scalpel with Zirconium Nitride coating on the #11 blade, the same coating that makes the blade sharper and stays sharp longer.

After cutting with it for a couple of hours last night, it felt extremely sharp I must say and I have not switched to a new blade so far. The blade and scalpel are designed for surgeons but who is to say I am not one? I just operate on paper.

Surgical scalpel and blade

Surgical scalpel and Zirconium Nitride #11 blade

* model names and numbers on scalpel and blade have been digitally removed.

5 thoughts on “Paper Surgery

  1. Dear Bovey,

    I think it’s a matter of personal preference and how you hold the blade. I find myself switching between an xacto knife, a scalpel and a paper cutting pen depending on my mood. I do, however, have to agree with you on the fact that No. 11 blades are amazing.

    From what I have seen, your work looks spectacular. I just can’t get the little circles right when I’m cutting; any tips?

    You can check out some samples of my paper art at:

    http://yousufbawany.wordpress.com/category/arts-and-crafts/

    Cheers,
    Yousuf

    • Ybawany, Thanks for your comment. Cutting circles are not easy. There are knives that rotate the blades for cutting rounds. But I don’t like to use it. So I just cut them out with regular blade. Move your elbow instead of wrist when cutting circles.

  2. Hi there,
    Would you mind please sharing with me the brand of the blade and handle pictured here? I’m looking for a rounded, comfortable, handle and they’re hard to find. Please feel free to email me if you don’t want to share the information online: amy@amysacksteder.com
    I love your work!
    Thanks so much!
    Amy

Leave a Reply

